Minor in PossessionGetting the Results You Deserve
Manslaughter and Three Counts of Assault by DWI Sentence Significantly Reduced
DWI Driving Privileges Reinstated
A Lincoln County man was facing loss of his driving privileges for having a blood alcohol content over the legal limit. After a full hearing on the matter, the Court agreed that there was no probable cause to believe the man was driving while intoxicated based on the details Mr. Muhlenkamp presented. The Court reinstated the man’s driving privileges immediately.
St. Louis Minor in Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
St. Louis Defense Attorneys Protecting the Future of Young Drivers
Young people charged with minor in possession (MIP) face potentially serious consequences that can affect their future. If this is your situation, get in touch with the St. Louis DWI attorneys at Muhlenkamp & Bernsen, Attorneys at Law now for a free consultation about how to fight the charges.
Aside from the potential criminal consequences stemming from a MIP charge, a minor also faces the loss of his or her driving privilege for a significant period of time. This is true even if you do not take a “conviction” on the charge. A skilled defense lawyer can often negotiate with the prosecuting attorney to get an MIP charge amended or dismissed to avoid these consequences and help you keep your driver’s license.
Call (314) 347-3313 now or contact us online to begin planning your case.
What is the Legal Age For Drinking or Possessing Alcohol?
In the state of Missouri, the legal age to possess, purchase, or attempt to purchase any type of alcohol is 21 years old. Any minor who is caught violating this will be guilty of misdemeanor minor in possession and can face fines and jail time.
When You Can Be Charged with MIP
Several acts by minors can constitute a violation of Missouri possession of alcohol laws.
For example, you may get in trouble for any of the following:
- Having alcoholic beverages in your possession or constructive possession (such as in a car)
- Purchasing alcohol or attempting to purchase alcohol
- Being visibly intoxicated
What are the Penalties for Minor in Possession of Alcohol?
Minor in possession is charged as a misdemeanor, and a conviction can mean up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. In addition, a misdemeanor conviction will go on your permanent record, affecting your ability to get accepted to educational programs or get hired for certain jobs, among other lasting consequences.
Defending Against Minor in Possession Charges
With the help of a skilled criminal defense attorney, there are several ways to limit the penalties of an MIP case. As your advocate, we will present any possible defense in your case and can negotiate with the prosecutor to have your charges reduced or dropped. We can also handle any related charges, including having a fake ID or DWI.
Our team has represented many young clients facing MIP charges, and we understand how to present evidence and apply Missouri law in your favor. The laws regarding minor in possession cases are complicated, so you need a law firm on your side with specific experience with handling this type of case.
Call (314) 347-3313 today for a free consultation to discuss your case.
High-Quality Defense6 Reasons to Choose Us
Exclusive Focus on Criminal Defense
Over 25 Years of Combined Experience
Extensive Experience with Appellate & DWI Cases
Free Initial Consultations
A strong defense begins with a strong offense. At Muhlenkamp & Bernsen, Attorneys at Law, we will scrupulously evaluate all angles of your case in an effort to achieve the best possible outcome and to help you restore your freedom and reputation.