St. Louis Felony DWI Defense Lawyers

While even a first-time drunk driving incident in Missouri is a serious legal matter, the potential consequences repeat offenders escalate extremely quickly.

After your first two DWIs, Missouri statute requires a Defender to serve mandatory jail sentences or to complete an involved, time consuming treatment court program. A DWI conviction also triggers a point suspension or revocation, which will result in the loss of your driver’s license.

A felony DWI conviction will result in extremely serious legal penalties, including substantial fines, prison time, the loss of your driver’s license, an inability to legally own a firearm, and other serious consequences. For these reasons, it is extremely important for anyone accused of DWI to make sure they do everything possible to protect their legal rights – this starts by retaining an attorney. To discuss your case with one of our St. Louis DWI defense lawyers, contact Muhlenkamp & Bernsen today to schedule an appointment.

Felony DWI Penalties

The penalties that can accompany a felony DWI conviction in Missouri depend on the number of previous findings of guilt/convictions a person has had and whether there were any aggravating factors present in the situation which resulted in their arrest. Here are some of the ways that a person can end up with a felony DWI conviction under Missouri law:

  • Class E Felony – DWI while a persistent offender (2 or more prior DWIs) or acting with criminal negligence to cause physical injury to another person. A class E felony could result in up to 4 years in prison. A minimum of 30 days in jail is required by statute unless 60 hours of Alternative Community Service or Treatment Court is completed.
  • Class D Felony – DWI while an aggravated offender (3 or more prior DWIs), acting with criminal negligence to cause physical injury to a law enforcement officer or emergency personnel, or acting with criminal negligence to cause serious physical injury to another person. A class D felony is punishable by up to 7 years in prison. A minimum of 60 days in jail is required by statute unless Treatment Court is completed.
  • Class C Felony – DWI while a chronic offender (4 or more prior DWIs), acting with criminal negligence to cause serious physical injury to a law enforcement officer or emergency personnel, or acting with criminal negligence to cause the death of another person. People who are convicted of a class C felony case between 3 and 10 years in prison and a minimum of 2 years in prison is required to be served unless Treatment Court is completed.
  • Class B Felony – DWI while a habitual offender (5 or more prior DWIs), or acting with criminal negligence to cause the death of a law enforcement officer or emergency personnel. A class B felony is punishable by a prison term of 5 to 15 years. An offender must serve 85% of their prison term by statute.
  • Class A Felony – DWI that results in the death of a person not in their vehicle, if they cause the death of two or more people, or if they had a BAC in excess of .18 when they caused the death of another person. A second Class B DWI can be charged as a Class A Felony. A class A felony can result in 10 to 30 years in prison, or life imprisonment.
Watch our FAQ Videos

Other DWI/DUI resources:

Roadside Breathalyzers vs Police Station Test

Probable Cause in a Missouri DWI/DUI Case

NHTSA Standards and DWI

Contact a Felony DWI Defense Attorney in St. Louis, MO

If you have are facing a felony DWI case, it is critical to retain legal counsel as soon as possible. The representation of an experienced attorney will have a significant impact on the way that a DWI case is resolved and may be able to help avoid the most serious consequences. To schedule a free consultation with one of our DWI defense lawyers, contact us today at 314-499-7255.

Contact St. Louis Criminal Defense Attorneys Muhlenkamp & Bernsen today for a free case evaluation.

Contact Us | Free Case Evaluation.